What’s in your tool kit?

As I’ve been winding down my CBT therapy my therapist keeps saying to me “you have all the tools you need” and you’ve got a number of “tools at your fingertips”. I quite like imagining that I’ve got an actual tool bag that I can carry around at all times and so it got me thinking about what’s in it to help me overcome my Generalised Anxiety Disorder (GAD) and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD).

I have found that thinking about this has actually helped me feel more confident about facing the future without having regular therapy (which after all can be a daunting prospect and may be an entirely separate blog post!).

So here are the tools that I will be turning to again and again as I navigate my way forward.

Professional help: Knowing when to access professional help is really key. I know that it can be difficult to accept that things have gotten to a point where outside help is needed but to be honest I think if the insight is there that this is a problem that isn’t going away then you’re half way there. Helping yourself through accessing professional help is a really powerful tool (It’s the equivalent of a power saw in my kit!). We all deserve to feel better and that first step in reaching out for professional help will tell yourself that you matter. I also know that if in the future things become difficult that that resource is always there and that is what it is there for. It is not ‘bothering people’ or ‘weak’, it is necessary and a large part of recovery. I will be using all my CBT lessons as time goes on including worry postponement, exposure techniques and more (this will also be a separate blog post!)

Walking: At the beginning of the year when things were starting to fall apart I started to walk. I walked through my lunch breaks at work and I walked in the evenings until I could walk no more. I only ever started to feel settled and soothed when I walked. I don’t know about you but when I am highly anxious I start to feel like my head is separating from my body and is drifting off up towards the clouds. Walking helps me to feel grounded. It also releases endorphins which is vital for mental health but was a good compromise at a time when I didn’t have the energy to run or do anything that required anything more than putting one foot in front of the other.

Exercise: This has only become relevant since I’ve started to feel better and have regained some strength. When I am highly anxious I cannot eat and I often vomit through panic. Please don’t exercise if you are in this state as it will make you feel worse. However, now that I have a full appetite exercise is a vital part of my week. Sometimes it’s a jog, sometime’s it’s a cheesy aerobics class, sometimes it’s yoga – it doesn’t really matter what it is –  it just helps to be out and about in the real world. I am distracted from my thoughts and my worries when I am doing exercise and doing a class of some kind often lifts the spirits. As long as it puts a smile on your face then do it.

Meditation: In all of my frantic researching about “cures” for anxiety and OCD I came to mindfulness meditation. A staple of recovering from OCD and anxiety is to realise that you are not your thoughts and your thoughts are not you and guess what mindfulness meditation says…. yep you’ve guessed it our thoughts are not facts. Through mindfulness meditation I have learnt how to better watch my thoughts rather than getting tangled up in them and then convincing myself that to untie the knot I need to “figure out” the solution. There is no solution and if you’ll let them thoughts will just pass on by like clouds in the sky. I also find that meditation helps me to sleep which can be an errant friend when anxiety strikes.

As I write I realise there are so many other things that I have learnt and picked up along the way. Plenty of sleep, good diet, natural remedies such as Rescue Remedy to settle the anxious feelings in the stomach, being outside in the natural world, writing, and sometimes the hardest one of all… feeling the fear and doing it anyway!

So what about you…. what’s in your tool bag?

solar tool bag

Image courtesy of Daniel on Flickr

5 thoughts on “What’s in your tool kit?

  1. Thank you for this post. It sounds like you have a strong understanding of the “tools” you carry with you. I think this is something so many people could relate to and your words can be of benefit to so many anxiety sufferers. I appreciate your honesty and bravery!

    • Thanks Angie for your comment. I think for me the trick will be remembering where I’ve put my tool bag sometimes. It’s easy to overlook it so I think that’s why for me the post was valuable to write. I’ve been following your blog and your updates on Blake. I suspect he will come back to his own tool bag, he may have mislaid it right now but it doesn’t mean it can’t be found again. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that he stumbles across it some day soon 🙂

  2. This is a great post! You have definitely covered the main ‘tools’ that each of us suffering from OCD and other anxiety disorders need to make sure we have easy access to.

Leave a Reply

