Like a bridge over troubled water.

First of all I’d like to wish any readers of the blog a Happy New Year. It’s slightly delayed as I went away but I hope 2014 is a year of great steps in recovery for you all.

So as is natural at New Year I got reflecting on 2013. Personally, it was one of the hardest I’ve been through. My OCD reached epic proportions, I started to feel that I couldn’t cope at work and my anxiety was so high that I couldn’t eat or keep anything down. I reached a pretty low place. But then something bright came out of the darkness. I started a blog. At first it was just for me to be able to vent a little and in part to alleviate some of the anxiety I was feeling. But gradually it started to become a place where I felt I could share my experience and perhaps even raise awareness a little. Through starting the blog I then joined twitter and to my delight started connecting with other people who also experienced anxiety and OCD, or who work with it, or who have family with it. It was a step in lifting the enormous weight that had been crushing me. I have found that in the most personal of issues I have found great comfort in the kindness and support of people I’ve never met sometimes more than with people I know – it can after all be so difficult to open yourself up entirely to people who know you. I would certainly encourage anyone who’s experiencing any of the issues that I raise in the blog to tap into online communities (not as a reassurance tool I should be quick to add but peer support is a heartening thing).

I’ve also had lovely emails/comments from some people who have read the blog. It’s nice to know it’s seen and I have appreciated each and every one of the comments that have been left.

I think at the heart of the matter is that in these kind of situations it’s essential to know that there are others out there – that you’re not the only one battling through with a quiet determination. Of course I don’t wish this on others but still I think it’d be a much darker place if there weren’t others to share your sorrow, your triumphs so today I am thankful for all the others out there who share their stories and even in their dark times reach out and provide a little support.

Warm thoughts to you all and wishing you all the best for 2014 🙂

Emily x

2 thoughts on “Like a bridge over troubled water.

    • Thank you for commenting Janet. It really has been a bit of a life saver for me doing this blog and reading other people’s blogs also. The internet may have some negative aspects but this has most definitely been invaluable. Hope you have a great 2014 🙂

Leave a Reply

